CREATING A HEALTHY BOUNDARY FOR YOURSELF

I am all for having conversations others. But there are just some conversations I don’t want to entertain. There are certain types of people I just don’t want to be around. In the past, I did. But I live in the present now and entertaining things that don’t add to my walk in Christ is something I no longer do. Now, if someone is having a problem in a certain area that is a bit touchy, I pray and ask God for wisdom so that I can offer positive advice. I don’t care to indulge in conversations that involve someone using explicit profanity, gossiping about others, talking sexually or trying to put me down. I don’t care to indulge in situations or conversations where others try to belittle or hurt me. I don’t care to indulge in situations or conversations where some may try to take my mindset off of Christ. I don’t care to indulge in situations or conversations where I am reminded of the person I used to be. These situations or conversations don’t add to me but subtract greatly from me.

I have been told that I just have to be strong around different types of people and I do understand that. I have much strength but, I simply have a boundary line. And there are certain types of people and conversations that I don’t care to indulge in. If what someone presents to me attempts to go beyond speaking and having a decent conversation, I have to shut it down. And this is creating a healthy boundary for myself. When a person attempts to go beyond that point, I call it crossing my boundary line. It is at that point that I must shut that conversation down. I must remind them of who I am NOW. And I am a Daughter of The King. I will talk as such. I will walk as such. And if they are offended by that, they will have to take that up with The King.  If one chooses to connect with me, one must accept and respect my boundaries. I just don’t care to entertain the company of those who are going nowhere, those who are constantly boasting, or those who only have money and sex on their minds.

I have drawn a boundary line in my life and this line is for my protection. I have come too far to be pulled back. You may be dealing with some people in your life who are dragging you down but you are afraid to say something but YOU MUST SAY SOMETHING! You don’t have to be ugly about it but let them know how you feel. Draw a boundary line when dealing with others. If they are not on the same level you are on, draw that line. Sometimes, you just have to say, “Hi” and “Bye.” Sometimes, you are strong enough to deal with such situations but you choose not to be around it. This doesn’t mean that you are weak. When it comes to your peace, joy and walk with God, you will have to set boundaries when dealing with others.  “For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good” (Titus 2:11-14 NIV). Be Blessed. – S.L.M.

boundaries.jpg

2 thoughts on “CREATING A HEALTHY BOUNDARY FOR YOURSELF

  1. Standing ovation from this keyboard! “I have drawn a boundary line in my life and this line is for my protection.” To which I might add that your boundaries protect the Christlikeness in you that OTHERS need to see as well. Have you read “Boundaries” by Dr. Henry Cloud?

    Like

Leave a Reply

