TOUGH LOVE

In the Bible, the Corinthians had an issue going on in their church. A man was having an affair with his stepmother. Now, the church totally ignored the situation. Yet Paul reminded the church that they had an obligation to follow God’s commandments regarding principles. Such a known act going on in the church could possibly have a negative effect on other believers. God’s commandments indicated that this man should be thrown out of church in hopes that it drives him to repentance. Now when I first read this, I thought, “How can they throw somebody out of church like that?” But then I looked at it from Paul’s point of view. The church should follow all of God’s commandments and such displeasing acts (that are known) shouldn’t be upheld in church (God’s house). If dismissing someone from church for that kind of behavior will aid in helping that individual to realize the wrong then so be it. I can understand it. It is called TOUGH LOVE. Sometimes, it takes tough love to get us all right.

When I had problems with one of my children, I had to practice tough love. People downright ridiculed me and despised me to the fullest but I had to do it. Everyone in my family seemed to have been against me. Everyone on my child’s side of the family despised me but still, I had to do it. No one stood by my side but my mate. He kept telling me that everything would work out and I just had to trust and believe. He told me that things would get worse before they got better and they did but I hung in there. Today, my child is a much better person. Now, my child’s temper is still like a rocking chair but she doesn’t practice it in my home anymore. I think that temper only jumps out and those who stir it up in my child. So I am praying on that right now. But tough love worked in both of our favor. As a parent, it is hard to practice tough love but situations call for you to do it. With the church, I know it can be hard for any pastor or minister to decide to dismiss someone from church but God’s commandments should be upheld. Perhaps this is the reason why the devil is attacking churches everywhere. If TOUGH LOVE is what it takes to get people right then TOUGH LOVE it is. Believe it or not, TOUGH LOVE is effective. –S.L.M.

 1 Corinthians 5:5 (NIV) “ hand this man over to Satan for the destruction of the flesh, so that his spirit may be saved on the day of the Lord.”

 A smooth sea never

Leave a Reply

