IN THE SYCAMORE TREE

Many of us are familiar with the story of Zacchaeus in the Bible. Zacchaeus was a tax collector who cheated many people. When he heard of Jesus coming to town, he was determined to see Him; however, Zacchaeus was too short and couldn’t even see Jesus through the crowd. He decided to climb up into the Sycamore tree so that he could see Jesus not caring what the crowd said. When Jesus saw him, he looked up and told Zacchaeus to come down because He must stay at his house. Zacchaeus told Jesus he would give over half of what he owned to the poor and would repay what he had taken from others. Jesus knew Zacchaeus’s heart. Salvation entered Zacchaeus’s home and he was saved, although the others mocked that Jesus was in the home of a sinner.

I am living my life in the Sycamore tree. I had fallen short and couldn’t see because of the crowd of worldliness around me. I got sick and tired….I got fed up….and I was DETERMINED to get it right and to see Jesus. I had to rise above the crowd of worldliness so I could see HIM clearly. When He called me by name, I went to Him and I confessed all of my wrongs and salvation is what I received. Even though others may still see me in my “old” ways, HE forgave me. I am not perfect but Jesus knows my heart and I continue to look for Him daily. Every now and then I have to climb that Sycamore tree to see Him but I SEE HIM! The story of Zacchaeus teaches us how to look for Jesus in our lives. If I have to climb a beanstalk to look for Him then oh well! Look out Jack!! Be Blessed.

“And Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, since he also is a son of Abraham. For the Son of man came to seek and to save the lost.” (Luke 19:1-10 RSV)

image

 

Stacy L. Montgomery

Leave a Reply

