DO WE REALLY KNOW THE MEANING OF LOVE?

Why are we so quick to say we love someone or are in love with someone when we don’t know the true meaning of love? How can we say we love our neighbor but talk about them behind their back? How can we say we are in love with our mates but are very quick to lie or cheat on them? The Bible speaks of all of the good things that love is. Love isn’t mistreating others, being dishonest, cheating or any other hurtful thing. Many of us label our past or current relationships as being in love because that is what we have trained ourselves to say. Many of us just grew ACCUSTOMED to long term relationships and just loved what others did for us. A convenience can be mistaken for love. When the doing stops and you change for the worst….thats not love. We must be careful not to confuse love with deep lust. And yes, lust feels alot like love and you can be in lust for many years. The same concept about convenience and being accustomed applies to friendships. If we love our friends, we love them…through good and bad. Real love doesnt grow tired and backbite after so many years. Love causes you to remain loyal. Love is that power that holds your faithfulness when you are tempted to do wrong. Love is that power that convicts your tongue before you even try to lie. Love is that power that cares for a person because of who he or she is and not because of what he or she does for you. Love is the power that is there just because and not to please the audience. Love is God. God is love. (Written by S.L.M.)

1 Corinthians 13:4–8 (NIV) “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

 

LOVE

2 thoughts on “DO WE REALLY KNOW THE MEANING OF LOVE?

  1. I struggled with this for a long time. Didn’t know the meaning of love. But I was quick to say… yeah I so loved him. Until I read 1 Corinthians 13:4–8. The That is what exemplified what real love is. Jesus love is real love. The author of love. And he sets the standard. So anything else is artificial. At the end, that ‘love never fails’ is what got me. All the ‘love’ i had in my relationships, FAILED. So I knew that wasn’t real love. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can totally relate to what you are talking about. When it came to my relationships, they all failed. I ended up marrying a guy who I grew up with thinking that he and I were meant to be together…only because I was accustomed to being with him. I had no idea of what love really was. When we parted, I had similar feelings in my other relationships. I grew bitter and just had some horrific ways. That wasn’t love. I am in a relationship now and it is totally different although we started out rough and I still had bitterness in me. But somehow, with God’s help, my heart transformed. And I can honestly say, “I love him.” I think if he chooses to go his way, we will be the best of friends. We have no reason to part as enemies. It took me awhile to grasp love but when I did, I felt love take over. Be encouraged, My Sister In Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

