THE LOVE OF GOD

Why is my head up when others put me down?

Why do I smile when I could wear a frown?

Why do I have eyes of love when there is turmoil to see?

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

 What causes me to embrace others when I could run away?

What causes me to tame my tongue in regards to what others say?

What causes me to stand by God when there other places I could be?

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

What causes laughter to follow the trail of my falling tears?

What causes a pillow of courage to comfort my fears?

What causes eagerness to cry out to God on my knees?

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

My heart sings a song of much beauty-

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

My mind tells my hands to write truthfully –

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

My thoughts have become those of purity –

It has to be the Love of God that lives inside of me.

image

 Stacy L. Montgomery

Leave a Reply

