BE CAREFUL OF THE WORDS YOU SPEAK

I have come across some very kind and spiritual beings in my life. They have spoken positive things into my life, have encouraged me when I needed it the most and put light in some of my darkest days. I have also come across those who weren’t so kind or who pretended to be kind and spoke negative things into my life. When I look back over my life, I find myself wishing that I hadn’t grabbed a hold to all of the negative things people have spoken to me, about me and against me. Looking back at this made me regret entertaining negative people with negative conversations who lived a negative lifestyle. I didn’t take in the fact that “misery loves company.” But now, in 2014, I know better so I do better.

The words in which we speak are very powerful so we should be careful about what we say and how we say it. My mom use to always advise me, “If you can’t say something nice, then keep your mouth shut.” I will honestly say today that the saying should be practiced more and more each day. Negative and ungodly talk has a way of planting seeds of negativity and ungodliness into one’s life. Words possess the power to build and to destroy. We have to be careful of what we say and what our ears entertain. If someone chooses to speak in a negative manner, simply cut that conversation short, move along but continue to pray for that individual. If someone brings cynicism against you, rebuke those ungodly words in the Name of Jesus, move along and continue to pray for that individual. It is not wise for us to join in such conversations. Taking in such ungodly and negative talk can cause our words to birth the same.

There will be many times when difficult people enter into our territory. They may irritate us or frustrate us. When these emotions come into play, we must immediately ask the Lord to help us bridle our tongue, to help us the speak love in spite of and to help us treat others as we would want them to treat us. If you can’t help but to entertain negative conversations, speak positive things over the negative things. If they something that ridicules a certain person or thing, then you say something that uplifts that person or thing. Either they will let the negativity go or they will walk away. There are some people who are simply aggressive with their negativity and ungodliness; these are the ones we simply have to avoid in love. We must not allow ourselves to become entangled in such unwholesome talk because our words will eventually reflect the same. As Christians, we should want to love one another, encourage another and simply be there for one another. We are held accountable for all that we do and all that we speak.

Matthew 12:36-37 “But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.”

words

3 thoughts on “BE CAREFUL OF THE WORDS YOU SPEAK

  1. There are others out there that say they go to church and love The Lord, but it isn’t always the case. Because man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart. Some worship different gods and try to pull you in by words of inticement to worship their gods. Be aware, use discernment, & know about these gods. BUT you must Know the only one true God, whose name is Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

