CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD

On Saturdays, I, alond with my kids, go visit my parents which is nearly a two hour drive (one hour to and one hour from). At times, the drive can be very tedious.  I don’t know what happened yesterday but my three little ones seemed to have had major issues of their own. My six year old son thought he was a combination of the Avengers and jumped around from place to place. My eight year old was whining because she wanted to spend more time at her godparents. My one year old was simply irritable because she has those painful canine teeth coming in. My head was pounding at 90 mph! When we left my parents’ home, my one year old began to cry hysterically.  She screamed and screamed. My head pounded and pounded. She didn’t want her pacifier nor did she want her older two siblings to console her. They had calmed down but she was still irritated.  It was dark and I was trying to concentrate on driving and looking out for deer. I became very frustrated. Before a tear could fall from my eye, I said out aloud, “Lord, help. Lord, please, help. Please come in as a pacifier to soothe and to comfort.” Less than two minutes later, my one year old stopped crying, grabbed her pacifier and remained quiet until we got home. All I could say was, “Thank you, Lord.”

Life can sometimes be “a screaming baby.”  The problems in life can scream at us to the point where we just want to take off running. We become frustrated at certain things and people.  We get lost at times and can’t find our way. Then there are those times that we simply want to just give up. These are the moments in which we have to stop and say, “Lord, help. Lord, please, help.” He comes in and meets us at that very point in lie. The Lord will come in as a pacifier soothing the frustration and irritability that has come upon us. No matter where you are or what time it is, if frustration hits, just stop and say, “Lord, help.” Our Father wants us to call on Him in times of despair. When we do, He comes as a Rescuer from Up Yonder.

Psalm 40:1-2 “I waited patiently for the LORD; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on solid ground and gave me a firm place to stand.”

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

