OPERATION PATIENCE

The word “patience” has been visiting me every day. God has placed this word in my spirit for this year. I read about it constantly. I hear about it on television continuously. People around me advise me to practice day by day. Today, I said, “Okay, Lord, I will be patient.” It seems like in my life, I have encountered storm after storm. When I see the first sight of the sun, I get anxious and want to just run to it and get in that warm place of life. When I get anxious, it seems like something goes wrong. It is sort of like a race for me. I am at the starting point and before the flag goes down, I have already started running because I am so anxious to win. And on the way to the finish line, I grow tired too quickly…my legs get weak….I stumble…then I fall. I watch others pass by me and of course, someone makes it to the finish line and win. If only I could have just waiting before the flag went down and gained that little extra breathing time….if only I could have been a little bit more patient…I could have won…so many times.

We must learn to be patient. I used to write about “practice makes perfect.” But one day, one of my readers told me, “Ms. Stacy, no one is perfect so we can practice all we want to but Ms. Stacy, practice does make it better.” I smiled at the feedback and it actually touched my heart. We have to get in the habit of operating in patience more and more each day so that ability to be patient gets better. Learning to be patient can be difficult especially when you have been in dark places in life and you are so eager to see the light. God just wants us to slow down, acknowledge Him, and wait on Him. In other words, He wants us to put “Operation Patience” into gear. I retrieved the term “Operation Patience” from the quarterback, RG3 (Robert Griffin, III), who plays for the Washington Redskins. RG3 suffered a knee injury which resulted in surgery. J. P. Finley of CSN stated “Operation Patience is the term RG3 coined to temper his emotions and expectations as he works his way back from reconstructive knee surgery in January. (2013)” RG3 even had a t-shirt with the term printed on it.

Now, to relate “Operation Patience” to our lives – we must submit ourselves to God and wait on Him. God will comfort every emotion that may come up on us in the process. God will dry our weeping eyes in the process. God will provide a clear pathway for our journey. We just have to hold on to faith and be patient. Sometimes, it may not seem like what we need or desire is going to even take place….sometimes, it seem like every obstacle will come across our paths…and sometimes, we will grow weary. When these “sometimes” come upon us, we have to look for the Lord and put “Operation Patience” into gear. I still struggle in the area of patience but as I said earlier, practice makes perfect. I strive to be all that I can be in the Lord to I can get to the place in life where God wants me to be. All of you, my sisters and brothers in Christ, have to do the same as well. If you are already there, please keep putting God first in your life, operating in patience and praying for those who are still striving. Patience is the key that unlocks the door of God’s blessings in our lives.

James 1:3 “Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience.”

References:

CSNWASHINGTON.COM. J. P. Finley, 19 Aug. 2013. Web. 03 Jan. 2014. <http://www.csnwashington.com/football-washington-redskins/talk/rg3-dons-operation-patience-t-shirt>.

operation patience

3 thoughts on “OPERATION PATIENCE

Leave a Reply

